Fiddlers Convention

The Tennessee Valley Old Time Fiddlers Convention.  I never even knew this thing existed until a couple years ago, and even then,  I wasn’t interested in going.  It is held every Autumn on the campus of Athens State University in Athens,  Alabama.  I had joined the Math and Computer Science club at the university last year, I thought it would look good on my resume.  I didn’t think I would have to do much, just go to a couple meetings and I would be done with it.  I found out that the MACS club has a food booth at the convention and they needed volunteers to staff it.  I resisted helping, but volunteers were scarce and I felt bad for not helping out at all yet.   I helped out, serving food and drinks for a few hours, then went to wander.  The atmosphere reminded me of a fair or carnival, but with none of the games or rides.  It was just people huddled in small groups playing all kinds of fiddle music.  It was actually really fun and everyone looked like they were having a great time.  This year I helped out in our booth all day long, so I only got a few pics some of the great food offered.


MACS booth.

Pocket Cherry Pie

Fresh Fried Pork Skins

Ribeye Sandwich

Ribbon Potatoes

Founders Hall

Huddled up after the rain started

 

I’ll definitely be attending from now on.  It’s a fun little convention that is good for the community.  And the ribeye sandwiches are amazing!

Leave a Reply

