Another Hamburger Recipe :)

IMG_3026

Yeah I made hamburgers on christmas. I didn’t feel like making any christmassy (is that a word?) dishes, and I didn’t have many ingredients on hand anyway. Half of my family went out of town for christmas, so we got together a few days prior. I was alone for a good part of the day on christmas, and this is what kept calling my name. I was watching over my parents’ house so they wouldn’t have to board their dogs and cat. We had used all of the romaine and the arugula was bad by now. The only leafy green I had on hand was kale. I use it to make green smoothies (I’ll post the recipe soon) and I don’t particularly like the taste. Surprisingly, it was good. The more complex flavors of the kale went well with the burger and the dark beer I was drinking.  I’ll definitely be using kale more often.

IMG_3009

The bitterness of the kale is balanced by the sweetness of the onion, but still lends an amazing flavor.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 12 pieces of bacon
  • 3 kale leaves – torn in half
  • 1 tomato – sliced
  • 1 onion – sliced then cut in half
  • picked jalapenos
  • 6 kaiser rolls
  • 6 slices sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper

IMG_3038

I used a griddle to make these, so I had some extra room. If using a pan, fry bacon in two batches, set aside. Pour out half of the fat and slowly cook the onion over medium-low heat. Cook until golden brown, set aside. Mix the salt, pepper, and beef.  Form into 6 thin patties, slightly larger than the rolls. Heat pan over medium-high heat and cook side 1 for about 3-4 minutes. Flip and cover with onions then cheese then bacon. Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes to finish side 2 (cover for a minute or two I’d you need to melt the cheese more). While hamburgers are resting, split rolls and brown in the pan. I like to use mayonnaise and mustard on both buns, maybe just a tiny bit of ketchup. Top with tomatoes, jalapenos, and half of a kale leaf. Good shit.

IMG_3044

Leave a Reply

