Honey-Garlic-Ginger Baked Wings

IMG_5479

I thought I would have sooo much time to cook and write since I’m done with school.  Not at all.  Everything else that I’ve wanted to do has been getting my attention finally.  TV series, books, and video games I’ve wanted to catch up on are caught up.  I’m getting enough exercise for 2 people, and I wouldn’t change that for anything.  I don’t usually eat the food I post on the blog, the emphasis is on taste not healthiness.   The meals I usually eat are pretty boring.  Plain oatmeal, green smoothies, rice and chicken, etc.  They taste great, but are nothing special.  Well, I’m going to try to introduce some healthier recipes that I can show people that have been asking for them.  I’ll try to keep the flavors intact.  So they may not be healthy to eat all of the time, but I’ll do my best.

Uh…I’ll start with the healthier stuff next time.  These wings are amazing!!  I threw a bunch of stuff I had in a bowl and awesomeness came out.  The flavors really blew me away.  These definitely don’t last long, so you might want to make some extra if you want some too.  I only got 2 last time I made them :).

IMG_5442

IMG_5440

  • 20 drummettes and midjoints (you can buy the wings whole and butcher them yourself, may be a bit cheaper)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp sriracha sauce
  • 1 lime (juiced)
  • 2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp ginger (grated)
  • 4 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 3 green onions (chopped)
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley (chopped)

If you buy them whole, watch a youtube video on how to cut them up.  It’s not that bad but you need some knife skills.

Preheat oven to 400° F.  Parboil the chicken wings for a minute or two and set aside to cool for a bit.  When the oven is ready, place a cooling rack on top of a baking pan.  Evenly place the wings on the rack.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until they are cooked through.  While the chicken is baking, get the sauce ready.  Melt the butter in the microwave and add to a large bowl.  Chop the garlic, parsley, and green onion.  Add all the garlic to the bowl and half of the parsley and onion.  Save the rest for the end.  Using a microplane, grate the ginger and throw that in.  Add the honey, sesame oil, sriracha, lime, salt, and pepper.  Stir to combine.  When the chicken is done, remove from oven and turn on the broiler.  Toss the chicken in the sauce and place back in the oven under the broiler.  Keep an eye on them, because they can burn if you leave them alone for too long.  After a minute or two, turn them over and pour some of the leftover sauce on them.  When they are crispy and browned, it’s time to take them out.

These things are so flavorful, they don’t need to be dipped in anything.  But they are really good in a fresh bleu cheese or ranch dip.

IMG_5473

IMG_5453

One thought on “Honey-Garlic-Ginger Baked Wings

  1. i can taste it just looking at the presentation thank u so much i cant wait to make them

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

