Kale Shake (Green Smoothie)

IMG_6278

1/2 cucumber
1 celery stalk
1/2 apple or pear
2 large kale leaves
1/4 cup olive, flax, or coconut oil
24 oz water

This might not taste amazing, but it sure is healthy.  I’ve actually acquired a taste for it and look forward to drinking these…weird, I know. I’d heard a few different people talk about green smoothies or kale shakes, but I never saw the reason to try them.  I actually saw a youtube video where Joe Rogan made his version.  I figured I’d give it a shot, because I don’t always get enough greens in my diet.  I have my method down now, but the first few times trying to make this weren’t always awesome.  Not enough water, too little blending, wrong combination of ingredients, and wrong water temp are some of the problems I had to work through. Now, the right blender is kind of important. I use a co-worker’s Vitamix blender at work and it is awesome.  It blends everything to a liquid in no time. My blender at home can’t get it that fine unless I leave it blending for a few minutes. If you’re going to be using it a lot, I’d suggest getting a better quality blender.  It really is worth the money.  I try not to eat much sugar, so my recipe isn’t very sweet, but you could always add more fruit or honey to make it taste better.  Also, I interchange ingredients based on what I have available, so feel free to do the same.

IMG_6285

Roughly chop the cucumber, celery, and apple/pear and add to the blender.  Add the kale and water next.  If you have a normal blender,  Let it get started slowly then liquefy it.  It might take few minutes for it to be drinkable.  A Blendtec or Vitamix will make quick work of this stuff though, maybe a minute.  I would really advise against adding the oil into the blender.  It makes a mess and makes a simple cleanup take forever.  You can just mix the oil in after blending, or eat it.

IMG_6318

These definitely fill me up and make me feel great all day.  Try one out and tailor it to your liking.

It is a good idea to rotate the greens you decide to use.  I drank these 4-5 days a week for month or two and I started feeling bad after drinking them.  Not sick, but just a general unpleasant feeling.  I did a little research and I found something called alkaloid poisoning that can occur if the same greens are continuously eaten.  Now, I’m not exactly sure if that is really what is happening, but not eating kale worked for me.  As soon as I stopped eating it, the symptoms went away.  The solution is to eat a different green everyday, but that’s not practical for me.  So, I just use kale one week, spinach the next, collard greens after that, and whatever else I find at the store.  I haven’t had the problem since.

IMG_6322

2 thoughts on “Kale Shake (Green Smoothie)

Leave a Reply

