Pork and Snow Pea Stir Fry

IMG_6883

Wow, trying to cook more healthily really makes my food boring. It’s not that it doesn’t look or taste good, it’s just that I make the same meals over and over. I’m going to post a roasted chicken recipe soon because it’s so versatile and it’s what I’ve been eating for the past month or two.

Recently, I’ve been playing sports to help stay in shape. And….I’m getting old. I hyperextended my elbow, messed up my rotator cuff, and hurt a ligament in my foot all within the same month. I’m still in a protective walking boot now, and still have a month of physical therapy for the shoulder. Anyway, I’ve definitely noticed that while I’ve been relatively inactive, what I eat definitely affects my body. In a short time I’ve seen some of the weight I’ve lost come right back and settle in. I was unsettled by it at first. I’ve gained 5 pounds by just not running? Am I really eating that badly? Honestly, I think it’s a portion size issue. I eat nutritious home cooked food for nearly every meal, with the occasional splurge on the weekend. I think I’m just eating too much. Also doesn’t help having a house full of snacks for a 3 year old. I know I’m not that old, but I can see signs already and can’t rely on exercise to keep lean. Diet is going to have to play a larger part going forward. That’s just how it’s going to be. I know I’m going to have more injuries and I don’t want to go through this every time it happens.

I’ve started the transition of my blog from unhealthy but tasty food to hopefully tasty and healthy stuff. It’ll take a while, and there will still be some things that I just can’t leave out, but I’ll get there.

IMG_6834

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean pork
  • 2 cups rice noodles
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3 green onions
  • 1/4 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 cup fresh snow pea pods
  • 2 tbsp toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup rice wine
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1 tbsp sriracha
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp kosher salt

IMG_6865

Add the wine, corn starch, soy sauce, and sesame oil to large bowl. Mix to combine. Dice the onion, mince the garlic, julienne the pepper, and chop the green onion into 1/2 inch pieces. Cover the pork with plastic wrap and pound thin with a mallet. Cut into strips and set into marinade for at least 20 minutes. Heat a wok or large pan over medium high -high heat, add half of the canola oil. When the oil begins to shimmer, add pork. Cook for a few minutes or until slightly browned. Move pork to the outer area of pan. Add the rest of the oil and let it heat up. Mix in the onion and garlic and cook for less than 30 seconds, if it begins to brown, move it out of the heat. Add the snow peas and peppers, cook for a minute or two then add the salt. Next add the cooked rice noodlesand remove from heat. In a small bowl, mix the sriracha, hoisin, and water together. Pour over everything, and mix. Finish with the green onions and toasted sesame seeds.

IMG_6844

IMG_6871

3 thoughts on “Pork and Snow Pea Stir Fry

  1. Erik doesnt it seem like all of us who want to eat less and exercise more seem to want that because we desire to lose weight? Strangely enough the answer can come from just eating more often. it will boost our motabalism indeed six times a day. It won’t take you long to think of this as a complicated solution to the problem of weight loss. Of course, there are lots of angles to this idea and many ways we can fool ourselves. But for now let’s just keep it simple.Please continue to make everything you make just eat less at a time more often. it works I just don’t have time to follow it:(…P.s. I love your recipes!!! Cassie a fulfilled fan!

Leave a Reply

