Cold Oats

IMG_7046

The last thing I want to do when I wake up each day is make breakfast. I take that back. During the weekend I love waking up and making a huge breakfast. I make my coffee and put on some music and cook in the morning sun. It`s by far the most relaxing part of my week. Without fail, my boy wakes up halfway through and comes out to watch mickey mouse or to help cook. Its great, and what I look forward to all week. But, during the week, I dont have the time. The sooner I get to work, the sooner I can leave. So, it’s in my best interest to get out the door as soon as possible.

You know that never happens. I’m absolutely horrible at getting my son and myself ready to go in a timely manner. I drag myself out to make coffee and then get in the shower. I’m always in there longer than I think I will be. I then get him up and throw something together for breakfast. Even though I try to cook quick breakfasts like cream of wheat, oatmeal, or eggs and bacon, they take some time. Fast forward an hour or more and we’re finally on our way out the door.

If I don’t have to prepare any food, I can be on the road in 30 mins after he wakes up. Everything goes faster it seems. These cold oats are easy to prepare and taste really awesome, kid friendly too. Give them a shot, try out different combinations and make it even better!

IMG_6999

IMG_7024

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened almond, flax, or hemp milk
  • 1 1/2 tbsp yogurt
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp dried blueberries
  • 1 tbsp dried cranberries
  • fresh raspberries or other fruit
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

IMG_7025

IMG_7036_1

IMG_7045

Usually made in mason jars, but any container will work.  Add all of the dry ingredients to the jar.  Pour in the milk, stir.  Add the yogurt, stir.  Finally add the vanilla and stir one final time.  Seal and place in refrigerator overnight.  You can add the fresh fruit before or after.  I usually put them in the next morning, but bananas are good to add the night before.

Leave a Reply

