Super Bowl Sunday Fresh Artichoke and Spinach Dip

IMG_8971

IMG_8977

I’ve been waiting for this weekend for 8 years.  Well, I didn’t know I’d been waiting for it until 2 weeks ago when my Seahawks won the NFC Championship in Seattle.  The first and only time we’ve been to the Super Bowl was the 2005 season.  I believe the officials affected the outcome and I felt cheated for years, but I’m over it for the most part.  I was forced to let go a bit after that. I got so worked up that I would be in a funk for hours to days after a big loss. Now, less than an hour and I’m good. Of course the high isn’t as high either.  Worth it though.

I had a lot of anxiety before the NFC Championship, through most of the game actually.  I thought I’d have even more for the biggest game of the year, but no I’m barely nervous.  I know everyone loves Manning, but I don’t think he’ll do quite as well as anyone thinks.  The Legion of Boom is beastly.  Also, getting Percy Harvin back helps our offense tremendously.  I don’t want it to be a good game, I want the Seahawks to beat them down and put the backups in.  Anyway, everyone will love you if you bring this dip to the party.  Serve it with tortilla chips or pita bread.

IMG_8994_1

IMG_9018_1

Ingredients:

  • 3 artichokes
  • 3 cups spinach
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 6 oz pepper jack cheese
  • 4 oz mozzarella cheese
  • 1 oz Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350F.  Steam the artichokes for 20-40 minutes or until the petals come away easily.  When they’re done, remove all of the petals and discard the fibrous choke.  Chop up the heart and if you’d like, scoop what you can from the thicker leaves.  Heat the olive oil over medium heat,  add the garlic and spinach.  Cook until the spinach is slightly wilted.  Once the artichoke and spinach has cooled a bit, add to a medium bowl.  Grate the cheeses and add all but 2 oz of the pepper jack.  Mix in the mayo, sour cream, cream cheese, red pepper, salt and pepper.  Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the top and put in the oven.  Cook for about 10 minutes or until cheese is slightly browned, broil for a minute if needed.

IMG_9039_1

IMG_9042_1

Everyone loves this creamy, super cheesy dip.  I’m making it at my Super Bowl party, and I don’t expect there to be any left over.  It only takes about 10 minutes in the oven, so just bring it and heat it at the location if you’re bringing it somewhere.

Proud to be part of the 12th man.  Go Seahawks!!!

One thought on “Super Bowl Sunday Fresh Artichoke and Spinach Dip

  1. You are making me miss home now (I’m the one from Everett, Actually, I grew up in Lake Stevens and live around the Seattle area for my first 37 years). Before spending the last 6.5 years here in Alabama, I lived 14 years in NW Arkansas, and worked in Fayetteville, home of the Razorbacks. And, I like you, felt for years like I didn’t fit in. After having lived in Arkansas for 7 years, I moved back to WA for one year to be with my aging parents. When I left, they had a going away party for me, and I was blown away by all the women who came. I guess, over time, this “Yankee” gradually became accepted and known for who I am, not where I am from. Hopefully, you will feel that way soon. And, I always say Seattle is west of the Missippi and was NOT in the civil war! .

Leave a Reply

