Blue Cheeseburger with Crispy Bacon and Sauteed Onions

blue_cheese_burger

For a long time now I have tried to eat absolutely everything put in front of me. Actually I’ve succeeded. There’s very little I won’t try and nothing has escaped yet. Now, I’m not talking about bull penis, eyes, or other fear factor stuff, that might still put me off. I’ve gone out of my way to eat weird and strange things and guess what? Not only did I try everything, I liked it all too. Where did this come from? I enjoy eating these things, when I would have spit them out 10 years ago. Well, blue cheese was up near the top of the gross food list. Maybe not the top spot, but definitely top 5. I really don’t even remember if it was texture, taste, or general yuckiness that put me off. I distinctly remember being very upset when I was a kid, because my cheese puffs contained blue cheese. I read the wrapper and was mortified, I think I stopped eating them even. Now, I’d search those out.  Also, I remember being bummed out when restaurants would only serve blue cheese dressing with wings.  Ranch is fine with me, I don’t turn my nose up at it, but blue cheese dressing is so much better.

IMG_1409

IMG_1416

IMG_1428

What I like to do now is retry things that I didn’t like previously. Scallops, zucchini, sweet potatoes, goat cheese, even fish were all on my list of items I wouldn’t touch. I know some if it is just an evolving palette, but there were still things that I avoided.  I can see a pattern where I’m liking much more bitter foods.  I’ve heard that it’s something that happens as we age, and I really see it.  I like it too.  I also see some of my friends or family members not changing their palettes, so maybe I’m just a little more adventurous and open to the change. My son will eat most things if they’re not spicy.  It’s great, I love when he requests vegetables.  Brussels sprouts in particular are his favorite, I get that request about once a week.  I hope his tastes don’t change too much when he gets into the teenage years.

IMG_1455

Blue cheese is one of my favorites from my old avoid list.  I can’t get enough of it now.  The tangy taste just pairs so well with many things.  Blue cheese with sweet strawberries on a salad or with red meat are my favorites currently.  It goes great with burgers as well. Give it a shot. I like a diner style burger, cooked on a griddle rather than one cooked on a grill. Change it up as you see fit, but they do taste much different.  I think its easier to cook on the griddle or pan anyway, so I get my burger fix all Autumn/Winter,

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground chuck
  • 2 oz blue cheese
  • spinach, kale, or lettuce
  • 1 tomato
  • 2 medium onions – caramelized
  • 2 dill pickles
  • 9 pieces thick cut bacon
  • 3 french hamburger buns or other fresh rolls
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • mayo and spicy mustard
  • oil or butter for onions

Makes 3 hamburgers.

Slice onions and cook with some oil or butter over low heat.  This will take a while, but go slow.  30 – 40 mins later and you’re done.  Scrape up any bits that stick or deglaze with a bit of wine at the end.  Cook the bacon and set aside.  keep the drippings though.  Separate beef into 3 1/3 lb patties.  Cook over Medium to Medium-High heat on a griddle or cast iron skillet.  You may need to adjust heat, based on cooktop.  You want a pretty good sizzle though. Cut buns in half and toast them or fry them in a small amount of the bacon fat.  Get the other ingredients ready and assemble with bacon and blue cheese on top. Pickles, onions, tomatoes, and greens on bottom.

Leave a Reply

